Skip to Content
University of Oregon

Essay Awards

Award CertificateEach term the English Department honors one major with an award for the outstanding student essay on any subject. The winning essay is chosen from essays nominated by the English faculty. The Stephen Swig Essay Prize, named for a distinguished alumnus of the department, comes with an award of $500. Winners List.

 Annual Awards

The A. Kingsley Weatherhead Shakespeare Essay Prize a $300 award endowed by a generous gift from Gloria Lee in honor of her husband the late Robert Lee. Winners List.

The Thelma and Stanley Greenfield English Honors Thesis Prize, a $1,000 award to the best English honors thesis from the year, named in honor of two of the English Department’s most beloved former Professors. Winners List.